HomeBASe Hotline CHALLENGE!


We know that everyone is going to need the hotline number once the HomeBASe crisis  reaches full effect.   We also know that 10 numbers is a lot to memorize when you are working to keep your family in permanent housing, especially when that housing is being taken away.  Our first step was to recognize that everyone needs to know the HomeBASe hotline number by heart.

Obvious next step?  Make a song!

Here are the lyrics to the song we made up to get the number burned into everyone’s brain:

6-1-7  (To the tune of Jenny, 867-5309)

D-H-C-D, who can I turn to?
Give me something that I can hold onto
I know you think I’m like the others before
But your name and number, I just have to call

DHCD, I got your number,
I need a place to be.
DHCD, don’t change your number,
573-1123

DHCD, you’re the help for me.
You don’t know me but answers would make me so happy.
I tried to call you before so you could calm my nerves
I tried other numbers, but they left me disturbed.

DHCD, I got your number,
I need a place to be.
DHCD, don’t change your number,
573-1123

I got it, I got it, I got it!
I got your number on the blog
I got it, I got it, I got it!
For answers, for real answers call….!

DHCD, I got your number,
I need a place to be.
DHCD, don’t change your number,
573-1123

We invite you, no challenge you, to make a video singing this song (or another song!) that will help families in crisis remember the number to the HomeBASe hotline.

This is undoubtedly going to be a long, difficult road…might as well turn the tunes up!

Post your videos or lyrics in our comments and/or on our Facebook.  Don’t forget to tweet it to @HFFma so we can share #OurVoice!

12 thoughts on “HomeBASe Hotline CHALLENGE!

  1. what a bunch of malarkey.Mothers are stressed out to the highest degree. people who have complied with the homebase program and did well with their homebase stabalization plan should be offered the mrvp vouchers because most of these families have been in transition for two years. with children and have. proved they can oay rent and other bills

    Like

  2. I am so scared about being homeless again I cry everyday for my family and myself. I don’t want to sing no song I wanna know what’s going on with mankind and their un ubcompassion for women and children alk these millions on fixing units and fuding ea and shelters why not just build new projects with the funding. 5600 families. are going back into motels but remember motels are supposed to be not used anymore can somebody just telk the truth and stop treatkng human beings like trash where is ghe monry really going something is terribly wrong

    Like

    • Hi April, I am sorry if our latest blog post made it seem like we are making light of the situation, that was not the intention. We fully understand how horrible this is and we also agree that a lot of decisions that were made about HomeBASe are irresponsible and are causing families to lose their housing…the opposite of what was supposed to happen. Thank you for sharing your pain, stories and wisdom…the more we use our voices to speak out against the problems within our system, the closer we get to finding solutions. Please know that you can call us at 617-227-4188. I don’t know how much help we can be, but know we are a support system that is fighting with everything we have to make it so that you or any other family does not have to enter the shelter system. We are here for you and thank you for continuing to stay strong and connected in this truly scary time.

      Like

      • See what I mean every since I talked about the burka and face veil I have got no more response thats the discrimination I been facing for four years!

        Like

        • Hi April, I apologize if our lack of response came across as discrimination- that is not our intention, ever. It’s vacation time at HFF and there is only one staff person in the office so it slipped my mind. In no way did we mean to offend, we are here to help regardless of race, religion, gender, anything. As always, we thank you for your participation and please call if you feel we can help in anyway.

          Like

          • Can you tell me your name so that I can call you and speak about my case I just met with my new worker at abcd carrie smith it was very interesting ! Look forward to more corospondence

            Like

          • My name is Jamie. I will be out of the office most of this week so I might miss your call, but definitely try! I will be around the office on Friday. I’m definitely looking forward to your story. My email address is jminton@homesforfamilies. You can email me there as well.

            Thanks, looking forward to speaking with you!

            Like

  3. I also thought this article in reguards to HomeBASE was distasteful!
    My HomeBASE is due to end Sept 1st,The exact wk my three children start the school yr.I have complied with my stablization plan.Which I can say knowing of two other families who have not,and had no intentions of ever doing so. is beyond frustrating!There for I also agree that only the households who have complied should be offered futher options than shelter! I could continue writing a very lenghtly comment,Yet I’ll leave it at this hoping the nightmare of going back into the situation I have worked so hard to never experience again,will be resolved allowing me to sleep and be able to look at my children without having to prepare myself of emotionaly effecting them the day of the new school yr.On a positive note I do want to say Thank You for taking the time to read my comment.

    Like

    • Hi Stacy, first- thank you so much for your comment. We hear your concerns and are thankful for your strength and courage in sharing your story. I apologize for the blog post and didnt mean to offend, sometimes when we feel frustrated we respond with humor, but we know this situation is very much the opposite of funny. I will replace the blog post with an updated one that appropriately reflects the situation along with additional information. Thanks for your comments and thank you for keeping us in check! Please don’t hesitate to call us if you need support, encouragement or answers! 617-227-4188. We are here for you and will continue to fight for housing for all. In the meantime, keep us updated on your situation so we can make sure exiting homebase is as safe and stable as possible for you and other families!

      Like

      • I greatly appreciate your reply.The time I’ve taken to obtain all other options than going into shelter,along with not loosing focus on my vocational training has consumed me!I by no mean’s want to rely on housing.There for an extension of time(addional 12months that was intended)needs to be put into place in order for me to come full circle with my vocational training.Not taken as a HomeBASE recipiant having intention’s of going into other housing program’s.Once again I thank you for ensuring futher answers!

        Like

  4. Hi Jaime,

    My name is Rebecca and I like the other posters was given a place to call home for two years and lost it. I however do not feel any form of anger about this. I am in fact full of gratitude that I had a wonderful place to call for two years, as that is the longest amount of time I have been able to stay in one place. I will never forget what a wonderful gift it was for us and moving forward I am grateful for all the workers who have helped me along the way. My case worker Robin has been unbelievably kind to me and my daughter during this process. She has always met me with a smile even when she had to deliver bad news, not easy for another person to have to do. I always find it upsetting to hear people complain after they have been helped so tremendously. I personally have found that counting my blessings and keeping a positive attitude has been one of the best things I can do to take control of my situation. I am awaiting patiently (sort of) to find out if my name has been picked in the lottery for the MRVP. I look for apartments everyday so I am ready IF this happens. I pray to God and thank him and take each day at a time. My advice to other mothers is to count your blessings and I promise your outlook will change.

    Like

    • Hi Rebecca!

      Thanks so much for that comment, it is great to hear a positive outlook (especially on such a rainy day, and especially when it comes to housing). I am constantly in awe at the resiliency and strength of people who work with Homes for Families– homelessness is not an easy issue or battle, yet people are fighting it with all they have. Thank you for your positivity and strength…if you ever want to get further involved in the advocacy work of Homes for Families, or want to keep us updated on your situation, just give us a call!

      Like

Leave a Reply

